Skip to content
You are here: Home Local News Seaton Community Champions 2016
Seaton Community Champions 2016
Friday, 20 January 2017 00:00

The Parish Council introduced an award a year ago to give recognition to people who have made a valuable contribution to village life. Nominations were sought in December and a selection panel consisting of Seaton Vicar the Reverend Grainger, Seaton Academy Headteacher Mrs Banks and Parish Councillors Mrs Lily Harwood, Julie Norman and Celia Tibble reviewed those nominations in early January.


There are two categories of award: the first is an individual contribution to the community and the second is a contribution as a part of a group. The winners were announced at the Parish Council meeting held on 16 January. The winner of the individual award was Seaton Village Hall Caretaker Mike Thompson. Mike was nominated for his tireless work to bring the hall into the 21st Century, including his efforts in promoting the use of the hall, which has increased hugely, his organisation of the significant improvements made to the hall’s facilities to make it available to many more members of the community and his friendly disposition and reliability in supporting organisations and events in their hire of the hall.


The winners of the group category were the leaders of the First Seaton Brownies Susan Graham, Yvonne Stevens and Heather Wilson. The ladies were nominated for giving up their own time each week to enrich the lives of young girls through the Brownie Group. They are seen as supportive, nurturing and caring in their management of the girls in their care, a role they have undertaken with enthusiasm over a long period, one where unfortunately many other such groups are folding as a result of a lack of volunteers to operate them, and a commendable achievement. The winners each received an engraved, silver salver in recognition of their contributions.


Contact Us

01900 603194


Meeting Dates

The Council meets at 7.00pm on the third Monday of each month, in:
The Parish Rooms
Causeway Road


View our Councillors and how to contact them here at Seaton Parish Council.

Read More